Making Democracy Work

Member News

What are our members doing? Milestone birthdays? Civic involvement? Send news for this webpage to the membership email on the contact page.

LWVNH president honored

Keene State College has announced the recipients of the 2020 President's Outstanding Women Of New Hampshire awards, this year celebrating women on the state, region, and college levels who have worked to secure political rights, specifically voting rights, for women and disenfranchised groups. The award ceremony is free and open to the public. It will be held on March 5, 2020, at 6:30 p.m. in Norma Walker Hall, Alumni Center at Keene State College.

The state of NH awardee is Liz Tentarelli, president of LWVNH, for her work and of course the entire League's work to enfranchise voters.

"Read the Keene State College article here."

Read the Keene Sentinel's report here

League members in local govt

December 2019: League state board member and Mt Washington Valley unit member Julia King has just been appointed Moderator of School Meeting in Bartlett.

Who else is serving at the local or school level among our members? Let us know--we think there are a bunch of you!

Death Penalty Repeal Hearing 2019

Not often that the NH Legislature makes the NY Times, and even fewer occasions when two League members are in an accompanying photo. Sara McNeil and Sally Embley (Sara on the right in a burgundy jacket, and Sally beside her) both testified in support of repeal on behalf of the League's position. See the photo and article here.

Representing League Aug. 2017

Student member Margaret with Sherry and Gwen proudly representing League at the Granny D March, Aug. 12, 2017 in Dublin.

At state Convention 2015--past presidents

Four LWVNH state board past presidents attended the state convention in June 2015, and three of them sat for this photo (right). From left, past president and energy policy specialist Sally Davis, past president and NH Voter past editor Ginny Higgins, and past president Lillian Nelligan who currently chairs the LWVNH Education Fund. Thank you all for guiding our League in the past and continuing to be active.

Also at convention, seriously listening to our guest speaker, was past president and former League liaison to Open Democracy Jane Armstrong.

LWVNH Convention 2015

Held at Hopkinton Library, state convention drew members from many parts of NH to enjoy a presentation by Open Democracy Executive Director Dan Weeks and a presentation on the Marilla Ricker portrait project by president Liz Tentarelli and Sara McNeil.

Quad States 2015 & 2016

April 2016: Twelve members of LWVNH attended the new England League Leadership Conference this year. Unfortunately we never stood still long enough for a good photo.

May 2015: LWVNH members attended the New England Leadership Conference (formerly called Quad States) along with League members from VT, ME, RI, and CT.

Pictured L to R are state board members Peg Fargo,Mary Perry, Joan Ashwell, and Nancy Marashio. Also past president Jane Armstrong and LWVK/S board member Claire Vannatta.

Sad News

Stella Scheckter of Concord, a member of the Capitol Area unit, passed away May 16, 2020. She worked at the New Hampshire State Library, where she was head of Reference and Loan Division from 1958 till her retirement in 1990, providing information services to the state government, researchers and the public. She was included in two editions of Who's Who of American Women.

Priscilla Ohler of New London, a long-time member and board member for many years of the LWV Kearsarge/Sunapee unit, passed away March 16, 2020. She was president of LWVKS at one point. She served on various local committees and the New London zoning board. Priscilla was a strong advocate for all children. She served on the board of the Concord Mental Health Center (now called Riverbend) and was a Spaulding Youth Center board member and chairman. She also served on New London's Juvenile Diversionary Committee.

On Feb. 1, 2020, former member Marilyn Andrews of New London passed away. Marilyn was active in many community activities and programs, including the New London Outing Club, the King Ridge Ski Program, and the Little Sunapee Protective Association. She served as the chair of both Hospital Day and the New London Thrift Shop and Rummage Sale. In local politics, Marilyn served on the Board of Selectmen from 1980 to 1986, and also served on the Planning Board, the Zoning Board of Appeals, the Budget Commission, the Conservation Commission and the Recreation Commission. At the state level, she served 6 years on the New Hampshire Solid Waste Board.

In August 2019, longtime League member Patti Eckels of Lebanon passed away. Patti was head of the Howe Library in Hanover from 1967 to 1987. She was named 1974's Ideal Librarian of the Year by the New Hampshire State Advisory Council of Libraries. She was a charter member of the New Hampshire State Advisory Committee on Libraries, and advised both the state library and the statewide library system. For many years she served as Voter Services chair of the LWV Upper Valley.

In October 2019, longtime League member Jennie McBean passed away. She had been living at Kendal in Hanover.